Colorado State University Animal Cancer Center
Advancing Cancer Research
 
| Share

Specialized Resources and Core Services

The CSU Animal Cancer Center is a leading translational cancer research center that is constantly working to incorporate the latest research discoveries and technology into clinical practice. The Center is supported by eight specialized functions that operate independently in support of PI-initiated research programs and collaborative partnerships.

Function Description Contact Information
Clinical Trials The ACC has 34 full time clinical staff members in the areas of medical, surgical and radiation oncology, diagnostic imaging and pathology and sees over 1500 new cases each year. A dedicated staff executes 15-20 clinical trials per year in experimental therapeutics and new diagnostics. Dr. Susan Lana
Phone: (970) 297-4591
Email:
susan.lana@colostate.edu

Dr. Doug Thamm
Phone: (970) 297-4075
Email:
doug.thamm@colostate.edu
Tissue Archive
More than 12,000 canine and feline tumor and normal tissue samples as well as serum and other fluid samples are archived from oncology patients. These samples are annotated with demographic information and can be linked with patient history and outcome information. Dr. Susan Lana
Phone: (970) 297-4591
Email:
susan.lana@colostate.edu
Pharmacology Analysis of drug concentration in tissues and fluids to determine PK/PD relationships to optimize drug dosing combinations and scheduling. Dr. Dan Gustafson
Phone: (970) 297-1278
Email:
dan.gustafson@colostate.edu
Diagnostic Imaging Advanced imaging of cancer through MRI, CT, PET/CT (starting in the fall of 2009), nuclear medicine, radiology, ultrasound and fluoroscopy. Dr. Susan Kraft
Phone: (970) 297-0350
Email:
susan.kraft@colostate.edu
Pathology Pathology, Immunohistochemistry Dr. E.J. Ehrhart
Phone: (970) 297-6138
Email:
ej.ehrhart@colostate.edu

Dr. Debra Kamstock
Phone: (970) 297-1281
Email:
debra.kamstock@colostate.edu
Radiation Treatment Optimization of therapeutic radiation oncology treatment methods such as Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT), Stereotactic Radiosurgery and kV/MV on-board imaging. Dr. Susan LaRue
Phone: (970) 297-0334
Email:
susan.larue@colostate.edu
Faculty consulting on research and industry relations Faculty consulting on research and industry relations. Steve Foster
Phone: (970) 297-1276
Email:
steve.foster@colostate.edu
Cancer Supercluster
and NeoTREX®
CSU Superclusters are a collection of faculty across departments brought together by a common research goal to solve global challenges. The Cancer Supercluster includes over 75 faculty from 12 departments and 8 colleges. NeoTREX is the business development arm of the Cancer Supercluster and facilitates research collaborations, technology licensing and formation of start up companies. Academic
Dr. Stephen Withrow
Phone: (970) 297-4175
Email:
stephen.withrow@colostate.edu

Business
Dr. Terry Opgenorth
Phone: (970) 297-5100
Email:
terry.opgenorth@colostate.edu

Steve Foster
Phone:
(970) 297-1276
Email:
steve.foster@colostate.edu